2024 Evening of Celebration and Health, Safety and Wellbeing Awards

08 Mar 2024

On Wednesday 6 March, we held the 17th annual Evening of Celebration in Auckland, recognising the 2023 graduates of the Health and Safety in Construction Programme, and the finalists and winners of the Health, Safety, and Wellbeing Awards.

Those in attendance were kept entertained throughout the night by our MCs Jono and Ben, while also hearing from Site Safe’s Chief Executive Brett Murray, guest speaker Jason Gunn, and Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety Brooke van Velden.

Thank you to our sponsors, to those who came along, and congratulations to all the graduates, scholarship recipients, awards finalists, and winners.

2024 Graduates 

We were proud to watch 49 graduates cross the stage and recieve the New Zealand Certificate in Workplace Health and Safety Practice (Level 3). 

We are looking forward to celebrating with more of our graduates in Christchurch and Wellington over the next few weeks.

2024 Health, Safety and Wellbeing Award Winners

It was a pleasure to celebrate those who are working hard to make our industry and workplaces safer and healthier. The 2024 winners are:

Kalmar Construction Mental Health and Wellbeing Award: Link Alliance

Ryman Healthcare Safety Contribution Award: Jeannie Whyman, Clark Construction Services; Gareth Wood, Naylor Love Wellington; Anya Sheldon, Dominion Constructors

NZ Chinese Building Association Safety Contribution Award for a small team: Naylor Love Wellington – Copper pipe replacement team

Vertical Horizonz Safety Innovation Award for large organisations: WSP, Waka Kotahi
Judges special mention: Built

Dominion Constructors Safety Innovation Award for small to medium-sized organisations: Hunter Civil

Mitre 10 Safety Leadership Award: NZS Group

The Labour Exchange Young Future Leader Award: Jessie Jacobs, Fulton Hogan

2024 Scholarships

Each year, Site Safe supports the health and safety leaders of tomorrow by providing scholarships to complete higher-level learning through the Health and Safety in Construction programme.

This year, six scholarship categories were offered: Under 25, Māori, Pasifika, Women in Construction, Open, and Accessibility.

Site Safe was pleased to acknowledge 23 scholarship recipients at this year’s Evening of Celebration.